Northern Territory State Conference 9 March 2022

ICPA NT was celebrating its 40th anniversary with the theme of ‘Before & Beyond’.  The Conference was hosted by Katherine Branch with Julie Richter as convenor, along with her small band of willing helpers.

State Founding and Life Members were invited to morning tea at Government House, hosted by Her Honour the Honourable Vicki O’Halloran AO, Administrator of the Northern Territory, on the Tuesday morning before the Conference.

A welcome reception on the eve of the Conference was held at Parliament House, hosted by the Honourable Lauren Moss MLA, Minister for Education, although she was unable to be there in person due to having COVID-19. However, the Honourable Eva Lawler took her place.

The Administrator of the Northern Territory, and Patron of ICPA NT, opened the Conference, on Day 1.

Minister Moss provided a video recording on ‘Building a Strong Education System for all Territory Students’.  Karen Weston, Chief Executive at the Department of Education expanded on Minister Moss’ speech.

ICPA NT was thrilled to award seven Awards of Merit to some hardworking volunteers – some well overdue:

  • Martha Van Der Veen
  • Pauline Rayner
  • Marg Laughton
  • Jackie Harvey
  • Ruth Woerle
  • Sally Sullivan
  • Helen Harding
  • Liz Bird was also awarded ICPA NT State Life Membership at the Conference Gala Dinner.

There were eighteen (18) Agenda motions raised across Allowances, Boarding, Distance Education, Early Childhood, Special Needs and Miscellaneous.  Allowances of various sorts were the hot topic with seven (7) motions.  All Agenda motions were carried.

The AGM saw a full council formed which is very exciting, as several new councillors came on board:

  • President – Moira Lanzarin
  • Vice President – Kiya Gill
  • IPP – Sarah Cook
  • Secretary – Juliane Vlach
  • Assistant Secretary – Suzanne Wilson
  • Treasurer – Rebecca Osmotherly
  • Publicity Officer – Amanda Murphy
  • Councillors – Rebecca Mohr-Bell, Melissa Kerr, Mary Bayly,
  • Kerrie Scott, Lisa Kimlin.                                                                               

ICPA NT State Council and the Conference Convenors put on a splendid celebratory Conference which was most enjoyable.

Jane O’Brien