New South Wales State Conference 30 – 31 March 2022

NSW State Conference

There were over 200 registered attendees for the Conference held in Bourke, going back to the very roots of ICPA. The Bourke Branch convened the Conference, led by Anna McCorkle, Di Ridge, and their small team. The Conference theme was “50 years on – 50 years strong”. 

Her Excellency, the Honourable Margaret Beazley AC QC, the Governor of NSW, opened Conference with a few words from her husband, Dennis. She remarked on the 50 years of ICPA, its humble roots, and the determination and passion of its members.

A highlight of the Conference was the ceremonial unveiling of a commemorative plaque and the cutting of the commemorative cake. Her Excellency, Margaret Beazley, and Wally Mitchell unveiled the plaque, followed by her Excellency and State President, Kate Warby, cutting the cake.

Keynote speaker Sam Bailey, Farmer, Ultralight Pilot, Inspirational Speaker & Author captivated everyone in the room with his life story told in a charming, self-deprecating, and humorous fashion. A fit and an able young man when a car crash changed Sam’s life forever when he was left a person with quadriplegia. We heard Sam’s story of how he conquered his disability through sheer tenacity and the support of family, friends, and doctors. 

The election of the Council at the AGM saw the following appointments:

  • President – Kate Warby
  • Vice President (2) – Tanya Mitchell, Robin Beckworth
  • Secretary – not filled
  • Assistant Secretary – Gabbie Le Lievre
  • Treasurer – Shennah Joiner
  • Lone Members Officer – Amanda McClaren
  • Publicity Officer – Kelly Turnbull
  • Committee (6) – Miffy Callaghan, Libby McPhee, Annabel Strachan, Laura Stalley, David Butler, Bree Wakefield

A total of ninety-four (94) Agenda motions were tabled, and all carried except for 2 withdrawn. Five (5) AGM motions were also carried.

NSW State Council put on a stellar celebratory Conference with a superb line-up of speakers and highlights of the past 50 years. Bourke Branch should be congratulated for their wonderfully competent and calm Convening Committee with Anna at the helm.

Suzanne Wilson

Federal Publicity Officer